Comets Indoor Soccer


Brian Harris Scores Series-Winning Goal in Final Minute, Earns MVP

BALTIMORE (March 16, 2014) – The Missouri Comets are the 2014 Major Indoor Soccer League Champions after defeating the Baltimore Blast 6-4 in Game Three of the MISL Championship Series.  Brian Harris earns Championship Series MVP Honor,Brautkleider Billig und Festliche kleider online scoring seven points over the series and the series-winning goal in the deciding Mini-Game.

Game Two Box Score & Stats
Game Three (Mini-Game) Box Score & Stats

The day started with Game Two of the Series. Missouri held a 1-0 series lead after winning 15-8 on Friday night at the Independence Events Center. The Baltimore Blast, 2013 defending champions, were not ready to concede the series and came out shooting.

Marco Mangione and Mike Deasel each scored in the opening period,Brautkleider große Größen putting the Comets into a 4-0 deficit after the first 15 minutes. Facing a similar dilemma in the series opener, Missouri still played confidently, attacking the Blast defense whenever possible and holding their defensive positions on the Baltimore counters.

The second period of Game Two was not one the Comets will want to remember. Three goals, including two tipped in off Comets defenders, put the visitors down 11-0 at the halftime break.

The Comets were able to score twice in the second half, including a beautiful bicycle kick from Leo Gibson. However, the Blast added four goals as the Comets bunkered down for the upcoming Mini-Game and fell in Game Two, 19-4.

In the MISL Playoffs, if the series is tied after two games, it is decided by an immediate 15 minute ‘Mini-Game’.  It is treated as a brand new game, as the score resets back to 0-0.

In a hectic series of events, Leo Gibson, the MISL’s regular season and playoff scoring champion, had a sure goal, when Blast defender Kevin Healey stepped in front. Several Comets players thought he deflected it away with his hand, but the referees signaled play to continue.

The Baltimore Blast used the confusion to bear down on the Comets goal. Danny Waltman made three spectacular saves, but was unable to get in front of the fourth shot. Baltimore led 2-0 with 6:32 remaining in the game.

The lead did not last long. Almost exactly a minute later, Stefan St. Louis chipped a pass across the field to Lucas Rodriguez whose bicycle kick shot landed far post netting.

Suddenly, the offensive gates opened. Adauto Neto snuck his way onto the Comets back post where his teammate found him for the score.  However, the Comets came right back again. This time St. Louis did the scoring, tapping in a pass from Rodriguez at the back post.

Brian Harris then scored the game-winning goal with 54 seonds remaining from the left side of the goal. His shot left his foot and found the back of the net before Blast goalkeeper, William Vanzela, even had time to react.

Baltimore inserted Mike Lookingland, MISL regular season MVP, as their sixth attacker, but it was to no avail. The seconds ticked down to zero and the Comets claimed their first MISL Championship.

The team will return home to Missouri tomorrow (Monday). Details on a fan celebration will be upcoming on Comets social media.